Posted by EL TORO FOOTBALL on Sep 02 2017 at 10:13AM PDT in 2017 Season

September 1, 2017

The Chargers burst forth from the tunnel at EL Toro Stadium Friday night, totally unaffected and unfazed by the heat and humidity. From the opening kick-off they took the fight to the El Dorado Hawks and controlled them in all 3 phases of the game. When the final gun sounded El Toro had put together a resounding 66-21 win.

The ET defense set the tone of the game early by forcing a quick 3 and out on the Hawks first possession. They shut down the Hawks running game and had El Dorado QB Jack Strouse on the run for most of night intercepting him twice: one by Jake Landry, and the other a pick 6 by Alex Baha who had a nice run up the visitors sideline ticks for the touchdown. Sam Whipple and Charles Poderoso, who started as sophomores last year, and Noah Aguilar, Austin Derrico, Baha and Landry anchor a new group of Chargers starters who have stepped in and played outstanding football. Two games into the season the character of this defense is showing, and they are executing Coach Mayoral’s system well.

The Chargers didn’t take long to get on the scoreboard when the defense got them the football. After a long punt return by Noah Aguilar put the football deep into El Dorado territory, Cooper Jones connected with him for a 12 yard touchdown. Matt Freem converted the PAT for a 7-0 lead. Jones finished 20-29 for 302 yards and 5 TD’s, and Aguilar finished with 3 TD catches. Shane McLaughlin had 2 touchdown catches: one was a front pylon shot, and the other a leaping grab in the end zone. Running the football and scoring on rushing TD’s were Running Backs Steven Castaneda, Julian Bruce, and Jake Landry. Castaneda and Bruce carried the rushing load behind the Front 5 of Kyle Whitesides, Dominick Vasquez, August Clark, Troy Teofilo, and Patrick Davis. Matt Freem was perfect on 9 PAT’s, drilled a 25 yard field goal, and stuck a couple of kickoff’s into the endzone just for good measure.


There are no comments for this announcement.


The Coach Richard Beatie Football Scholarship Award